Monday, September 20, 2010

The Book of James - Outline

There are a number of ways of outlining the book in order to grasp the arrangement of its content. One way is to arrange it around a series of tests by which the genuineness of a person’s faith may be measured.

Introduction (James 1:1)

I. The Test of Perseverance in Suffering (James 1:2–12)

II. The Test of Blame in Temptation (James 1:13–18)

III. The Test of Response to the Word (James 1:19–27)

IV. The Test of Impartial Love (James 2:1–13)

V. The Test of Righteous Works (James 2:14–26)

VI. The Test of the Tongue (James 3:1–12)

VII. The Test of Humble Wisdom (James 3:13–18)

VIII. The Test of Worldly Indulgence (James 4:1–12)

IX. The Test of Dependence (James 4:13–17)

X. The Test of Patient Endurance (James 5:1–11)

XI. The Test of Truthfulness (James 5:12)

XII. The Test of Prayerfulness (James 5:13–18)

XIII. The Test of True Faith (James 5:19–20)

MacArthur, J. (2001). James : Guildelines for a Happy Christian Life. MacArthur Bible studies (3). Nashville, TN: W Publishing Group.